Chat Now!   Member Gallery    Member Articles    Games   Member Groups   Member Blogs   Health News    Bored?

Author Topic: Anxiety and sleeplessness  (Read 9039 times)

Offline danilan80

• Danigirl
  • Rec's: 0
  • Mood: Content
    Content
    • Poke This Member
Anxiety and sleeplessness
« on: March 26, 2009, 09:40:25 AM »
Hi eveyone. I'm new to the forum, but definately not new to this whole anxiety thing. I have been suffering from GAD, Panic disorder, and depression on and off since I was 10 yrs old. I am 28 now and actually went 7 years with no meds and no symptoms until about a month ago when the guy I was with 5 years left me, and I guess that triggered something inside. I'm not very good with change. I thought after 7 years that maybe i had grown out of all of this. Wishful thinking I guess.  Anyway......my question is how many of you have gone numerous nights without sleep because of your anxiety and panic? It seems like my anxiety is constant all day but it gets WAY worse at night. I stress myself out just knowing I have to get some sleep cause I have to work in the morning. I swear I get calm for a few seconds and start to doze off, and then its like a rush of adrenaline jolts me awake. I can feel it in my stomach and my heart races for a few seconds and then calms down again only to do this over and over until the sun comes up. I haven't slept but MAYBE 1 or 2 hours a night for 2 nights now and I wonder how long I can go with no sleep like this before it either gets better or I die!! I use to go through this and remember actually getting better in a couple weeks.  I just wonder if any of you have the same problem. I know that between attacks (my attacks lasting 1 or 2 weeks) I usually overload with sleep. Its like i am getting prepared for the sleepless nights. I have to work and it is very hard when I am so tired. I am on Lexapro 10mg a day and the doc gave me Xanax .25 for panic attacks as needed. And Lunesta to sleep. I have yet to try the Lunesta.